Sinful Pleasures – Chili Dark Chocolate Cookies

cloudsmeatballs_choccookies

This is probably an unhealthy admission to make, one that will most likely get me kicked out of civilized society and/or be shunned by cooks and desert lovers everywhere, but here it goes: I don’t like cookies *cue virtual stone-throwing*

Yes, yes I know I’m a horrendous human being and you all are probably thinking that hating cookies is equivalent to stealing candy from children. But hold on a sec let me explain.

Growing up we rarely had cookies in the house (store bought or otherwise). And we called any hard, sweet-tasting disks biscuits not cookies (a remnant from bygone colonial days I guess). My mother never made us chocolate chip cookies, brownies, or things other Canadian moms made for their kids. But she did make ahhhmazing kheer (fragrant rice pudding) and gajar ka halwa (sweet carrot pudding)! They were so heart-warmingly good that us kids never felt like we were missing out; never once felt envious whenever one of our friends brought home-made cakes and cookies to school. My tastes oriented toward unique not what everyone else was eating.

It wasn’t until in university when, without my mother’s cooking nourishing me everyday, I felt the inclination to experiment. And boy did I experiment! Streusels, pies, tarts, gateaus and of course chocolate chip cookies in all its incarnations: with oatmeal, peanut butter, or straddling a scoop of ice cream. But somewhere down the road, from being able to fit into a pair of jeans to crying in the H&M change room because the zip on my pants wouldn’t close, I decided that the best thing would be to give up my proclivities. Clearly they were taking a toll on my waist line.

Now, years later, I think I’m finally in a good place. I’ve made my peace with cookies, and coming up with this recipe has definitely helped. J (my boyfriend/lodger) goes crazy for them! I use Lindt’s Chili Dark Chocolate but feel free to use any other chili chocolate bars – in fact, leave a comment in the post with alternative chocolate recommendations.

I feel I should mention that despite having a big ol’ chili pepper emblazoned on the cover, the Lindt chili chocolate isn’t actually spicy. It just leaves a pleasant warm feeling on your tongue for a bit.

Enjoy!

cloudsmeatballs_choccookies5

 


 

Prep time | 10 minutes                Cook time | 10 minutes              Yields | 3 dozen

3/4 cup granulated sugar

3/4 cup brown sugar, packed

1 cup butter

2 large eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 tablespoons honey

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 package Lindt Chili Chocolate, chopped

sprinkle of Maldon flaky sea salt (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 degrees C).

1. In a large mixing bowl, blend together the granulated and brown sugar. Cream together the sugars and butter until light and fluffy. Add in the eggs one at a time, mixing well between additions. Mix in the vanilla extract and honey.

2. In a separate bowl, sift together the baking soda, salt, and flour. Gradually add the flour mixture to the batter. Stir in the chocolate chunks.

cloudsmeatballs_choccookies3

3. Scoop cookies onto a baking sheet. Gently flatten with your palm or fingers and sprinkle a little bit of Maldon flaky sea salt on top. Bake for 8-10 minutes, or until the top is lightly browned. Remove from oven and leave cookies on baking sheet for a few minutes so the cookies can set. Transfer to a cooling rack to cool completely.

cloudsmeatballs_choccookies2

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Marco Adamovic says:

    If I had to pick a substitute for kheer, this would have my vote!

    Like

Leave a Reply

